This is the "Find Articles" page of the "ENG1050 Intro. to College Writing (Scherwatzky) Spr. 2010" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
What are reference books?
Types of Articles
Plagiarism for Students

Admin Sign In 

ENG1050 Intro. to College Writing (Scherwatzky) Spr. 2010  Tags: intro_to_college_writing eng1050  

Course Research Guide for Dr. Scherwatzky's Spring ENG1050 sections
Last update: Feb 8th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.merrimack.edu/ENG1050_scherwatzky  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Find Articles            Print/Mobile Page
  

Finding Newspaper Articles

  • Newsaper Source  
    Rating
    Ebsco provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
  • National Newsapers 27  
    Rating
    Proquest offers online access to some of the most respected newspapers from all over the country, each with its own unique geographic perspective. Includes New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, Washington Post, Barrons, etc. Coverage starts 1980 for most titles.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic  
    Rating
    A collection of full-text databases with particular emphasis business, law, medicine, and reference. To search for newspaper articles select "News" form.
 

Finding Articles

See below for some databases to start with when researching ENG1050 topics.

To see an A-Z list of databases that McQuade Library subscribes to, click here. 

Go here for a list of databases organized by subject area.

For off campus access, use the 14 digit number on the back of your MACKCard.

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)  
    Rating
    Contains indexing for more than 8,100 journals, with full text for nearly 4,500 of those titles. Includes newspaper articles
  • CQ Researcher  
    Rating
    Reports explore hot topics that range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
  • JSTOR Language & Literature Collection  
    Rating
    The JSTOR project seeks to develop online access to the full back files of selected journals. The database contains a digitized image of every page and is searchable by every word.
  • Literature Resource Center with MLA  
    Rating
    Citations to published scholarly literature in linguistics, modern languages, literature, communicative behavior, and folklore. Detailed coverage of English, American, European, Asian, African, and Latin American literature.
  • Project Muse  
    Rating
    Offers 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

 In addition to the library databases, you can use Google Scholar to search for journal articles.

 

Click here for more information about using Google Scholar.

 

Interlibrary Loan

If you search the databases above (or any other resource) and find articles that you want that the library does not have access to, you can request them using interlibrary loan. It may take from several days to several weeks for your articles to arrive.

Use this form to request articles.  Library staff will contact you when the article arrives and you can pick it up at the circulation desk.

 
 

Using Journal Finder

Curious to find out whether or not McQuade Library has access to a particular journal?  Enter title in search box below:

Search for a Journal by Title/ISSN:

 

 

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait