This is the "Find Articles" page of the "SOC 4600 Research Methodology (DeCesare) Spr. 2010" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
What are reference books?
Database Search StrategiesTypes of Articles
Plagiarism for Students

Admin Sign In 

SOC 4600 Research Methodology (DeCesare) Spr. 2010 

Course Research Guide for Dr. DeCesare's SOC4600 course
Last update: Feb 4th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.merrimack.edu/SOC4600  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Find Articles            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Select Print Journals

A sampling of sociology journals are listed below.  These can be found on the second floor in the Periodicals Room.

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

In addition to the library databases, you can use Google Scholar to search for journal articles.

Click here for more information about using Google Scholar.

Chronicle of Higher Education

 

Recommended Article Databases

For the complete list of Library Databases, check out the A - Z List.

For off campus access, use the 14 digit number on the back of your MACKCard.

  • SocINDEX with Full Text  
    Rating
    Comprehensive sociology research database featuring more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.
  • Academic Search Premier  
    Rating
    A large academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,500 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • Academic OneFile  
    Rating
    Cntains 8,000 academic journals, the majority in full-text, available in HTML and PDF formats. In addition it contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full-text New York Times content to 1995.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals  
    Rating
    Full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Click above to directly link to sociology journals.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook
    Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, MMY provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Single user access ONLY.
  • Project MUSE
    "Project MUSE® is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, user-friendly online access to over 300 humanities, arts and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Every journal is heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. MUSE is the sole source of complete, full-text version of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies."
  • Education Research Complete
    Includes 750 active full text journals, indexes over 1,500 journals and includes full text for more than 80 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers. It spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social work.
  • ERIC
    ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals.
  • ProQuest Psychology
    Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 575 titles, with over 485 titles available in full text.
  • ProQuest Social Science
    Includes over 510 titles, with more than 280 available in full text.
  • PsycINFO
    Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Coverage back to 1887.
  • CQ Researcher  
    Rating
    Updated weekly, this product explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
  • JSTOR  
    Rating
    A searchable digital archive containing back-issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It contains complete runs of these scholarly journals, many of which date from the 1800s. Note: the most recent 3 to 5 years of archive are frequently embargoed.
 
 

Journal Finder

Curious to find out whether or not McQuade Library has access to a particular communications journal?  Enter title in search box below:

Search for a Journal by Title/ISSN:

 

Be sure to review our complete list of Social Sciences journals.

 

Interlibrary Loan

If you search the databases (or any other resource) and find articles that you want that the library does not have access to, you can request them using interlibrary loan. It may take from several days to several weeks for your articles to arrive.

Use the ILL FORM to request articles.  Library staff will contact you when the article arrives and you can pick it up at the circulation desk.

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait