This is the "Summer 2015" page of the "McQuade Messenger" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

McQuade Messenger   Tags: library news, mcquade messenger, newsletter  

Last Updated: May 19, 2015 URL: http://libguides.merrimack.edu/mcquade_messenger Print Guide RSS Updates

Summer 2015 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

FROM THE DIRECTOR'S DESK

Happy Summer!Kathryn GeoffrionScannell's profile photo

As you set off for your summer adventures, remember McQuade is here to help year-round. Stop in for some books or DVDs to take on vacation, or use your library password to access our digital resources such as BrowZine and the new all discipline Films on Demand Collection for your research.

Congratulations to the Class of 2015!

Kathryn GeoffrionScannell

 

Instruction Librarians Present Poster

Lyena Chavez, CJ Wong, Elizabeth Sarkodie-Mensah, and Michaela Keating presented a poster at The Association of College and Research Libraries - New England Chapter (ACRL/NEC) Spring 2015 Conference held at the College of Holy Cross in Worcester, MA.

This conference entitled, “Spacing Out with the Library: An Exploration of Collaboration Across the Physical, Virtual and those Places in Between” examined physical and virtual library spaces intentionally designed to encourage scholarship, collaboration and production. 

McQuade Librarians' poster is entitled Collaborative Reference: McQuade Library's Research Center.

Here is the poster's abstract:

Are reference services responding to changes in students’ research habits and behaviors? This poster describes Merrimack College's Research Center, a place where a team of librarians provide flexible, convenient, and personalized research assistance to students.  

Although reference has gone high-tech, students seeking high-touch reference assistance still travel to a destination -- whether it’s a reference desk, a librarian’s office, a reference room, or a center.  Thus, libraries are challenged to design reference spaces in which librarians are visible to students and are well-positioned to partner with students to engage in active research, from quick “show and go” questions to more in-depth reference consultations. This poster discusses how and why McQuade Library at Merrimack College embraced a Research Center model that creates a positive reference user experience for students and places collaboration – both among librarians and with students-- at its core. McQuade's Research Center facilitates a team of librarians successfully serving a variety of student learners in an appealing and comfortable environment. This poster describes how the Research Center is staffed, the types of research consultations happening within the center, and visually depicts the layout of the center. It also includes reference and usage statistics and student feedback proving that if you build it, students will come.

Congratulations to the Graduating Civil Engineering Majors!

The staff at the McQuade Library is extremely proud to feature this year’s Senior Design project,  Proposed STEM Academic Building, Middlesex Community College, in Merrimack ScholarWorks!  Under the guidance of department chair, Marc Veletzos, seventeen students prepared a proposal for the a new STEM building to be constructed on the Middlesex Community College campus. This capstone project will be featured as the Merrimack ScholarWorks paper of the day.

Faculty members- if any of your students created exemplary work this semester, we would love to show it off! Contact Michaela Keating for more information about including student work in Merrimack ScholarWorks.

 

BrowZine Trial: McQuade's Academic Journals on your iPad!

Displaying

Turn your tablet or phone into a virtual journal bookshelf!  Just go to the App Store and download BrowZine for free then let us know if you like it by filling out this BrowZine Survey.

BrowZine syncs with McQuade Library holdings so you can create a bookshelf of your favorite journals on your iPad.  BrowZine will send out push notifications when new content is published in your favorite journals.  This app is awesome because it allows you to "browse the shelves" online for the latest issues.  You can even sync between your devices and use Browzine with Mendeley.  And it works on many Android devices.  

 
Please try it out and let us know what you think. The Browzine trial is until the end of May so please let us know if you like it, or if you find any quirks.  If you need help getting it set-up, just let your liaison librarian know. Also, feel free to stop by the Research Center with your device and a librarian can help. 

 

 

Community Supported Agriculture @McQuade

McQuade Library, in collaboration with the Welcome Center, Human Resources, and Hamel Health, is partnering with Farmer Dave's in Dracut to offer Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) farm shares. Purchase of a share entitles you to a box of fresh, locally grown produce every week for 20 weeks, from mid-June through late October. Small and regular vegetable shares, as well as fruit shares, are available. 

Pick up is on Wednesday afternoons from 3:00-6:00 at McQuade Library. Any leftover produce will be donated to the Merrimack Campus Kitchen Project and another local food pantry.

Interested? Go to http://farmerdaves.csaware.com/store/ to sign up, or email C.J. Wong for more info.

 

New Reference E-Books For Spring '15

We have new Reference books for Spring 2015, all available online in the Gale Virtual Reference Library.  Search a single title, a topic group, or all.

NEW MAY 2015

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice - Sherwood Thompson
Call Number: Online via ebrary
ISBN: 1442216042
Publication Date: 2014

HUMANITIES



ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES


Cover Art
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability - Willis Jenkins & Whitney Bauman, eds.
Call Number: Gale ebooks
Publication Date: 2007-2013
Click the title above and search all 10 volumes and more or browse. Each volume has a different focus.

SOCIAL SCIENCES

Cover Art
American Buyers: Demographics of Shopping - New Strategist Press
Call Number: GVRL ebook
Publication Date: 2014









SCIENCES & ENGINEERING

Cover Art
Biotechnology in Context - Galè
Publication Date: 2012




Welcome Kadie

We’re pleased to welcome Katherine (Kadie) Turcotte to our McQuade library team as our new Access Services/Reference Associate.  Kadie graduated from the University of Massachusetts Lowell with a bachelor’s degree in Legal Studies/Political Science. In May, she will receive her Master's in Library and Information Science degree at Simmons College.

Kadie will be splitting her time between the access services and reference/instruction departments.  She will be staffing the Research Center on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings.  She will also help develop and maintain McQuade’s LibGuides collection, and conduct library workshops in the fall.

Her access services reponsibilities include managing interlibrary loan and facilitating the library's iPad lending program.  Her office is on the 1st floor behind the Help Desk.

 

Kadie is a sucker for young adult literature, especially A Series of Unfortunate Events. It’s a little known (and secret) fact that she’s member of the V.F.D. Kadie also enjoys knitting and running -but not at the same time. When the sun is shining and the weather is beautiful, Kadie likes to spend time outside at the beach or hiking in the woods.

Please stop by the Help Desk to meet Kadie!

 

      
     

    Congratulations Senior Student Workers

    See below for Ben Burke's future plans:

    Benjamin Burke: I will be working full time as an ABA Counselor for Melmark New England. Since it's centered in Tewksbury, I plan to move within the North Shore to be closer for my job and be closer to Merrimack. It has been a wonderful experience to be a part of this wonderful school and to work for the McQuade was an incredible time. I met a lot of great people, made new friends, shared mutual interests in books old and new with people, and stumbled upon new books by accident that I've come to pick up and enjoy. Thank you Chris, Joe, Kadie, CJ, Elizabeth, Janet, and everyone from the library for everything in my time here. :-) 

    10 of our fabulous McQuade student workers are members of the class of 2015.  We wish them every success!

    We will miss our graduates:  Maxwell Aniconi, Marissa Barreiro, Benjamin Burke, Selene Cummings, Brigid GeoffrionScannell, Karamarie Joyce, Anderson SanchezRegalado, Kristi Slocum, Dana Tuccelli, Lisa Vassallo, and Jackie Vlahos.  

    Films on Demand for ALL disciplines!

    Films on Demand logo

    Linked in MACKsearch, linked in the catalog and viewed online - over 10,000 videos on all topics are now available to Merrimack users.   Films on Demand videos come from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Broadway Digital Archive, California Newsreel, PBS, BBC, ABC, historical newsreels, and more.  

    View off-campus or on, on your phone or tablet.  Link titles, segments or custome clips in your syllabus for out-of-class viewing on campus or off.

    Title Segment Transcript

    Below is a sampling showing the variety of videos available:

     

    Instruction/Liaison Librarian Awarded Scholarship

    Congratulations to Instruction/Liaison Librarian CJ Wong for being awarded ACRL/NEC's Christine Drew Scholarship.

    The $ 2,000 scholarship includes registration/travel stipend to attend the ACRL Immersion program (which CJ attended last summer in Burlington, Vermont) and complimentary registration/travel stipend to attend the ACRL/NEC Annual Conference, where McQuade Instruction/Liaison librarians presented a poster.

    Well done, CJ!

     

    Summer Reading

    Looking for something to read this summer? Why not try checking out our Hot Titles collection, located around the fireplace on the first floor of the library. Here you can find some of the newest and best-selling books around. This collection features a mix of several genres, so there’s a little something for everyone.

    If you’re into short stories, Someone by Alice McDermott is a great choice to read out on your deck or in the sand at the beach. This heart-warming collection of stories details the life of a young girl named Marie, and her struggles throughout childhood, adolescence, motherhood, and old age. If you want to be touched by the lives of others, this is the book for you!

    Perhaps longer novels are more your thing. If that’s the case, why not check out The Daring Ladies of Lowell written by Kate Alcott. This wonderfully written book of local historic fiction looks at the struggles and hardships women endured while working in the mills of Lowell, Massachusetts.

    You don’t have to be a teenager to enjoy reading young adult novels- they’re for everyone! Dive into the world of young adult literature with Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. This coming-of-age story encompasses all the teenage angst you could ask for. Get caught up with the unlikely pair of Eleanor and Park as they encounter love, hate, peer pressure, and courage.  

    Do you like the curious and bizarre? Fascinated with the weird and atypical? Then Hollow City, the second novel in Ransom Riggs’ Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series is just what you’re looking for! Hollow City takes you on a journey with a teen named Jacob and his group of unusual friends, while they attempt to rescue their loved orphanage director, Miss Peregrine.

    Who says you have to sit around all summer? Grab a book from our Hot Titles collection and travel to distant lands, explore the universe, and journey through time meeting people (and creatures) that otherwise would be unknown. A book isn't just a stack of ordered papers; it’s a chance to embark on tremendous new experiences!

    For other great summer reads, check out: http://libguides.merrimack.edu/readingforfun   

    Cover Art
    Someone - Alice McDermott
    Call Number: [Hot Title] PS3563.C355 S66 2013
    ISBN: 9780374281090
    Publication Date: 2013

    Cover Art
    The Daring Ladies of Lowell - Kate Alcott
    Call Number: [Hot Title] PR6101.L426 D37 2013
    ISBN: 9780385536493
    Publication Date: 2014

    Cover Art
    Eleanor and Park - Rainbow Rowell
    Call Number: [Hot Title] PZ7 .R79613 Ele 2013
    ISBN: 9781250012579
    Publication Date: 2013

    Cover Art
    Hollow City - Ransom Riggs
    Call Number: [Hot Title] PZ7 .R4423 Hol 2014
    ISBN: 9781594746123
    Publication Date: 2014

     

    Mechanical Engineers' Handbook

    Cover Art
    Mechanical Engineers' Handbook - Myer Kutz
    ISBN: 1118118995
    Publication Date: 2015-02-09
    Make sure to click Table of Contents to see:

    Volume One of the Mechanical Engineer’s Handbook, Materials and Engineering Mechanics, gives you accessible and in-depth access to the most common topics you’ll encounter in the discipline: carbon and alloy steels, stainless steels, aluminum alloys, copper and copper alloys, titanium alloys for design, nickel and its alloys, magnesium and its alloys, superalloys for design, composite materials, smart materials, electronic materials, viscosity measurement, and much more.

    Volume Two: Design, Instrumentation and Controls covers electronics, MEMS, and instrumentation and control, giving you accessible and in-depth access to the topics you’ll encounter in the discipline: computer-aided design, product design for manufacturing and assembly, design optimization, total quality management in mechanical system design, reliability in the mechanical design process for sustainability, life-cycle design, design for remanufacturing processes, signal processing, data acquisition and display systems, and much more.

    Volume Three: Manufacturing and Management covers environmentally benign manufacturing, production planning, production processes and equipment, manufacturing systems evaluation, coatings and surface engineering, physical vapor deposition, mechanical fasteners, seal technology, statistical quality control, nondestructive inspection, intelligent control of material handling systems, and much more.

    Volume Four: Energy and Power covers the essentials of fluids, thermodynamics, entropy, and heat, with chapters dedicated to individual applications such as air heating, cryogenic engineering, indoor environmental control, and more. Readers will find detailed guidance toward fuel sources and their technologies, as well as a general overview of the mechanics of combustion. -from Wiley

    ERC - Not just for students and teachers!

    Children’s books for summer reading! DVDs for viewing! How about a parachute to play with?  Bingo, Lotto, bean bags and magnifying glasses! These items and much more are some of the many resources available to all of the Merrimack Community to check out. So parents, grandparents and guardians make a trip or go online to the Education Resources Collection at the McQuade Library. Happy Summer!

     

    Summer Reads in Higher Education

    These electronic books can be read on your computer or mobile device.  Make sure you set up your library password to access these items.












    Cover Art
    Success on the Tenure Track - Cathy Ann Trower
    ISBN: 9781421405971
    Publication Date: 2012-06-18

     

    Password Setup Instructions

    If you want to access BrowZine, Films on Demand, or other library resources this summer, you'll need to set up your library password.  Watch this video to see how to set up your password.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip