Skip to main content

McQuade Messenger: Winter 2017

McQuade Library News

From the Director's Desk

"I am a librarian and I will be a light for privacy and access to information."

Congratulations to all of this year's Tolle Lege authors! And kudos to all the folks who braved the weather to attend our 14th annual reception at the Writers House.

Scan the items below to learn more about how we can help you--McQuade librarians and staff are supporting and collaborating with departments all over the college.  

Stay tuned for more info about our work with the School of Education & Social Policy on our STEMSmart Teachers project, with the Library Resources Committee on IRB and Merrimack ScholarWorks,  with CETL on "Fake News", and with the Social Justice Committee on understanding our differences.

Stay warm and Think Spring!

--Kathryn

Congratulations to this year’s Tolle Lege authors!

The Writers House played host to this year’s Tolle Lege Reception sponsored by the McQuade Library.  The annual reception is held to honor the authors of works of scholarship and creativity produced by members of the Merrimack community in the preceding year.
Vice Provost and Professor of English Kerry Johnson opened the event, followed by 6 representatives of the 80 faculty, administrators, and alumni who contributed works this year.  

Speakers this year were 

  • Bryan Bannon, Director of the Environmental Studies and Sustainability Program and Associate Professor of Philosophy; 
  • Sarah Benes, Senior Director and Lecturer, Graduate Health Sciences; 
  • Sirkwoo Jin, Assistant Professor of International Business & Management; 
  • Jim Kaklamanos, Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering; 
  • Zoe Sherman, Assistant Professor of Economics; 
  • Elaine Ward, Assistant Professor of Education.

See the Tolle Lege LibGuide for more information about the collection.

Human Library at McQuade

DON'T JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER!

The Human Library comes to Merrimack College during Social Justice Week (April 3 - 7, 2017), hosted by McQuade Library.

The Human Library™ is designed to build a positive framework for conversations that can challenge stereotypes and prejudices through dialogue. The Human Library is a place where real people are on loan to readers;  a place where difficult questions are expected, appreciated and answered.

The concept is simple, yet very powerful: instead of checking out books, you sit with a random stranger and listen to their story. Just like a book, the "reader" will be exposed to a unique experience, but will also be able to ask questions and learn much more.

We are looking for volunteers to share their stories!  Would you like to sign up to become a book in our Human Library?  Please contact Elizabeth, CJ, or Michaela, or come to the Research Center on the 2nd floor of the Library.

Image result for human library logo

Librarians Fight for Intellectual Freedom

Back Row: Katherine Turcotte, Elizabeth Sarkodie-Mensah, Michaela Keating
Middle Row: Frances Nilsson, Lyena Chavez
Front: Catherine Wong

Get to Know your Liaison!

Library liaisons act as a bridge between McQuade Library and academic departments. Each academic department has a library liaison (a professional librarian) who works in partnership with the department to select library materials and ensure that library resources and services align with the department's teaching, learning, and research.   Learn more about McQuade's successful program and find out who's your liaison.

What can your liaison do for you?

  • Serve as your first point of contact for information about library resources and services.

  • Purchase materials to support your curriculum.

  • Attend department meetings to discuss library resources and services.

  • Help you embed information literacy/research skills into your department's curricula, course assignments, and learning outcomes.

  • Collaborate with you to create or update an existing research guide for your students.

  • Assist you and your students with in-depth research questions through consultations.

Another Notable Department in Merrimack ScholarWorks

Congratulations to the faculty of the Mathematics Department for boosting Merrimack College into one the most popular institutions for works in Algebra.  In November 2016, Merrimack College ranked as an institution with the most downloaded works in the field.  Twenty works are available in the Mathematics Faculty Publication series in Merrimack ScholarWorks, and in the last year they received over four hundred downloads from users around the world.

If you are interested in making your department's work more discoverable and put Merrimack on the list with other top-ranking institutions, contact Merrimack ScholarWorks Administrator, Michaela Keating: keatingm@merrimack.edu 

M.I.N.T.S.Program held in ERC

"Make and Take" Classroom Resource Workshop sponsored by Merrimack Institute for New Teacher Support (M.I.N.T.S.) was held on February 25th from 10:30 - 12:30pm in the Education Resources Collection (ERC). Topics included Resources/Strategies for Meaningful Classroom Data Collection - Resources/Strategies for Time Management & Transitions - Resources/Strategies for Motivating Students - and more!  Attendees got a chances to explore the Education Resources Collection (ERC)  and to preview new resources acquired for the S.T.E.M.smart Teacher backpacks

   

Infrastructure

Katharine Whittemore's article from the January 27, 2017 Boston Globe focused on 4 books on infrastructure. Check them out, and a few more, below!  We also have The Race Underground, which will be the topic of American Experience on WGBH

Library Baby!

Congratulations to Librarian Kadie Turcotte and her literary bundle of joy!

Fake News and McQuade

McQuade Librarians Kathryn Geoffrion-Scannell, Lyena Chavez, Michaela Keating, and Catherine Wong recently attended a workshop at the Oliver Wendell Holmes Library at Phillips Academy entitled Libraries in a Post Truth World with speakers from Project Information Literacy, The News Literacy Project, First Draft News, the Berkman Klein Center for Internet and Society as well as educators from Andover High School, Phillips Academy, and Merrimack's Melissa Zimdars.  Attending that workshop and the workshop by Melissa Zimdars through CETL on Teaching in the "Post-Truth" Era at Merrimack generated a variety of lessons and ideas.  Several librarians incorporated new lessons on spotting fake news and fact checking into their classes, and Michaela Keating created a LibGuide to help Merrimack students with this timely topic.

Wednesday is Design Night at the Media Center

The Media Center will be open extended hours this semester on Wednesdayevenings from 6 to 9pm for Design Night. All are welcome to drop in with questions about Adobe Photoshop, InDesign, or Illustrator. Bring works in progress, or start a new project. Feel free to ask for tutorials and assistance in getting your design projects to look their best. 

Abbott Lawrence Academy Students Visit McQuade

This February, 51 students from Abbott Lawrence Academy visited Merrimack College. Librarians Elizabeth Sarkodie-Mensah, Kadie Turcotte, Michaela Keating, and Catherine Wong led resource gathering workshops with them.  Students were ready with a variety of topics from U.S. History.  Librarians covered search strategies and an introduction to some of the resources at McQuade Library.  Students left with articles they could use to support their thesis statements.  

ERC - What's New!

     

Apple TV, expanding and mobile whiteboard, cubbies to hold art, craft and maker materials, and new S.T.E.A.M. resources are just some of the exciting additions to the Education Resources Collection (ERC). Visit the ERC in person or online and check us out!

Streaming Videos on Kanopy

In addition to offering Films on Demand for streaming over 20,000 videos, McQuade can now subscribe to individual titles not in Films on Demand through Kanopystreaming.  

The video Starving the Beast: The Battle to Disrupt and Reform America's Public Universities  is now available to Merrimack through Kanopy Streaming.  Click here to watch.  
;

Tune in to WMCK

Wednesdays are full of woe, and Librarian Michaela Keating is embracing the sad! Tune into WMCK every Wednesday from 3-4 to catch the Frequent Cry-er Program- an hour of music exploring the exquisite art of the sad song.  Some genres played include indie rock, indie folk, doom metal, post-metal, post-rock, electronic, classic rock, Motown, and more! 

New online resources from McQuade Library

McQuade Library has added 3 new online databases and 6 new titles to our 50 magazines on Flipster.

Alexander Street Press logo Counseling and Therapy in Video These videos provide “a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. These collection provide a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.”

Nutrition Research Center logoNutrition Reference Center provides trusted sources for nutritionists and dietitians on all aspects of nutrition: foods, diseases, skills, guidelines, patient education and more. Sources include journals, books, and CINAHL documents.

International Medieval Bibliography logo  - International Medieval Bibliography Search a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and more published worldwide on all aspects of the medieval period. Use the Journal Finder and the NOBLE catalog to locate fulltext of specific items.

logo of Flipster app We have added more magazines to Flipster allowing you to browse issues of 58 magazines, all online, or download an entire issue to the Flipster app on your mobile device for offline reading - perfect for long bus, car and plane rides. New magazines include: AmericaARTForum InternationalCommunication ArtsBiblical Archaeology ReviewMacworldNew Republic, and Yes!  These join favorite titles from Businessweek and Inc, to the Atlantic and New YorkerNewsweek and Time, Discover and Science News, to Esquire and Sports Illustrated, and Vogue and Yoga.

Hot Titles @ McQuade

Want to go on an adventure but don't have the time? Well, you've come to the right place! Check out McQuade's Hot Titles, located on the 2nd floor of the library. We have tons of new books, both fiction and non,  by today's most popular authors including Stephen King, Zadie Smith, Margaret Atwood, Karen Slaughter, Emma Donoghue, and Herman Knoch. 

You can even browse McQuade's Hot Titles from the comfort of your own home! Click here to see what adventures await: http://libguides.merrimack.edu/HotTitles/Home​  

If you don't see a new book that you'd like to check out, email Kadie Turcotte

Some of our newest Hot Titles are below:

New Science and Engineering Ebooks

Flipster - Popular Magazines Online