Skip to main content

EDU 2410 The Exceptional Learner (Welby)

10 MASS DISABILITY CATEGORIES

Our Massachusetts 10 Disability Categories:

Autism
Includes Pervasive Developmental Disorders (PDD, PDD/NOS), Asperger's Disorder, Rett's Disorder,
Childhood Disintegrative Disorder (CDD), etc.

Emotional
(state regs defines as "Emotional Impairment", federal regs uses the term "Emotional disturbance")
Includes pervasive mood of unhappiness or depression; or a tendency to develop physical symptoms or fears associated with personal or school problems, over a long period of time and to a marked degree.

Developmentally Delayed
Learning capacity of a young child (ages 3-9)  is significantly limited)

Communication
(state regs defines as "Communication Impairment")
Use of expressive or receptive language is significantly limited (Includes speech, articulation, stuttering, language impairment, or voice impairment, etc.)

Intellectual
(state regs defines as "Intellectual Impairment", federal regs uses the term "Mental retardation")
Limited cognitive functioning

Physical
(state regs defines as "Physical Impairment")
Includes severe orthopedic impairments or impairments caused by congenital anomaly, cerebral palsy (CP), amputations, and fractures.

Sensory
(state regs defines as "Sensory Impairment")
Includes Hearing, Vision, Deaf-Blind

Specific Learning Disability
In read, write, spell, or to do math, listening, think speak (federal regs includes Dyslexic).

Neurological
(state regs defines as "Neurological Impairment," federal regs uses the term Traumatic brain injury (TBI) )
Includes the use of memory, information processing, 
organizational skills, social skills, speech, language, etc.

Other Health issue
(state regs defines as "Health Impairment")
Includes ADHD, asthma, lead poisoning, leukemia, nephritis, rheumatic fever, and sickle cell anemia.

Chart taken from here.

Massachusetts Disability Definitions and Related Links